Universidad del País Vasco / Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea

Congresos y Jornadas

Ways of Structure Building

November 13-14, 2008
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Faculty of Letters, (Gradu Aretoa)
University of the Basque Country


The last fifteen years have seen the emergence of a number of alternative approaches to structure building in natural languages. Antisymmetry (Kayne 1994), left-to-right top-down merge (Phillips 1996, 2003; Bianchi & Chesi 2006; Guimarães 2002, etc.), sideward movement (Nunes 1995, 2001, 2004; Hornstein and Nunes 2002; Nunes & Uriagereka 2000; Hornstein 2000, among others), multi-dominance structures (see Starke 2001; Svenonius 2006; Citko 2000, 2005; Abels 2004; Gärtner 1997, 2002; Van Riemsdijk 1998, 2001, 2006; Gracanin-Yuksek 2007; Chen-Main 2006), and late insertion of adjuncts (Lebeaux 1988, Stepanov 2001), for instance, have made it possible to find new solutions for old problems. Within this context, the University of the Basque Country (UPV-EHU) will host a two-day conference with the purpose of bringing together different conceptions of the mechanisms by which the syntactic structure of natural languages is built, from the point of view of both merge and move.

index >>



Myriam Uribe-Etxebarria (Dpto. de Lingüística y Estudios Vascos) and Vidal Valmala (Dpto. de Filologías Inglesa y Alemana) / (Members of the research group "Hizkuntzalaritza Teorikorako Taldea- HITT/CIT- 07/144-IT-210-07" and the research project FFI2008-04786/Filo )

index >>



  • Barbara Citko (U. of Washington)
  • Jairo Nunes (U. of São Paulo)

index >>



Important Dates:
Deadline for submission of abstracts: September 1st, 2008.
Notification of acceptance will be no later than September 20th, 2008.
The conference will cover part of the travel expenses of accepted speakers (up to 250 euros per speaker approximately).

Submission of Abstracts:
Authors are asked to submit two pdf files with their abstracts, one anonymous and one with the author's name and affiliation, to the following address:


The body of the message should include the title of the paper, name of the author(s), affiliation(s), surface mail address and e-mail address. Abstracts should be no longer than two pages in length (including examples and references), in Times New Roman 12-point type, single line spacing and 2,5 cm. margins. Submissions are limited to a maximum of one individual and one joint abstract per author.

Official language of the conference is English.

The organizing committee:
Myriam Uribe-Etxebarria and Vidal Valmala (U. of the Basque Country / HiTT)
myriam.uribe-etxebarria@ehu.es, vidal.valmala@ehu.es

index >>



Thursday, November 13

Gathering and greetings

-Invited Speaker- Jairo Nunes (U. of São Paulo)
Sideward Movement: Triggers,Timing, and Output
Abstract (pdf, 40 KB)
Handout (pdf, 120KB)
Go to the videos

Angel Gallego (CLT/UAB - U. of Cambridge)
From L-Syntax to L-Periphery
Abstract (pdf, 37 KB)

Coffee break

Antje Lahne (U. of Leipzig)
Deriving MLC Effects and Anti-MLC Effects From a Specificity Principle on Derivations
Abstract (pdf, 130 KB)
Handout (pdf, 145 KB)
Go to the videos

Samuel D. Epstein (U. of Michigan), Hisatsugu Kitahara (Keio/U. of Michigan) and T. Daniel Seely (EMU)
Structure Building That Can't Be!
Abstract (pdf, 95 KB)
Powerpoint presentation (ppt, 1,17 MB)
Go to the videos


Thomas Stroik (U. of Missouri-Kansas City), Michael Putnam (Carson-Newman College), and Maria del Carmen Parafita Couto (U. of Bangor)
Flavours of Merge
Abstract (pdf, 82 KB)

Theresa Biberauer (Cambridge U.), Michelle Sheehan (Newcastle U.)
Disharmony, antisymmetry, and the Final -over- Final Constraint: why clauses need nominals
Abstract (pdf, 125 KB)
Handout (pdf, 556 KB)
Go to the videos

Dirk Bury (U. of Bangor), Hiroyuki Uchida (U. College of London)
Constituent Structure Sets
Abstract (pdf, 117 KB)
Handout (pdf, 61 KB)
Appendix (pdf, 114 KB)
Go to the videos

Coffee break

Yoichi Miyamoto (Osaka University)
On Extraction out of a Floating Quantifier in Japanese
Abstract (pdf, 54 KB)
Handout (pdf, 145 KB)
Go to the videos

Fabian Heck, Antje Lahne and Gereon Müller (University of Leipzig)
On Conflicts in Structure Building
Abstract (pdf, 74 KB)
Handout (pdf, 102 KB)
Go to the videos


Friday, November 14

-Invited Speaker- Barbara Citko (U. of Washington)
More Evidence for Multidominance
Abstract (pdf, 8 KB)
Handout (pdf, 236 KB)
Go to the videos

Antonio Fábregas (CASTL-U. of Tromso / U. di Bologna)
Evidence for multi-dominance in Spanish word formatio
Abstract (pdf, 35 KB)
Handout (pdf, 183 KB)
Go to the videos

Coffee break

Hironobu Kasai (U. of Kitakyushu)
A Multiple Dominance Approach to Parasitic Gaps
Abstract (pdf, 94 KB)
Handout (pdf, 161 KB)
Go to the videos

Martina Gracanin-Yuksek (Middle East Technical University)
What the clitic JE in Croatian tells us about multidominance
Abstract (pdf, 114 KB)
Handout (pdf, 334 KB)
Go to the videos


David P. Medeiros (U. of Arizona)
Projection as an Epiphenomenon of Optimal Packing
Abstract (pdf, 100 KB)
Handout (pdf, 605 KB)
Go to the videos

Carlo Cecchetto (U. of Milan-Bicocca), Caterina Donati (U. of Urbino)
Rethinking Head Movement
Abstract (pdf, 136 KB)
Handout (pdf, 48.2 KB)
Go to the videos

Coffee break

Miki Obata and Samuel D. Epstein (U. of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
Building (Proper) Improper Movement Structures
Abstract (pdf, 96 KB)
Handout (pdf, 165 KB)
Go to the videos

Roger Martin (Yokohama National U.), Juan Uriagereka (U. of Maryland)
Uniformity and Collapse
Abstract (pdf, 74 KB)

Download the Programme in .pdf format (pdf, 21 KB)

index >>



  • Ad Neeleman (University College of London)
  • Adriana Bellettti (Università degli studi di Siena)
  • Aritz Irurtzun (Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea)
  • Barbara Citko (University of Washington)
  • Colin Phillips (Univeristy of Maryland)
  • Genoveva Puskas (Université de Genève)
  • Jairo Nunes (Universidade de São Paulo)
  • Jason Merchant (University of Chicago)
  • Kleanthes Grohmann (University of Cyprus)
  • Luis Eguren (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
  • Marcel den Dikken (Graduate Center of the City University of New York)
  • Melanie Jouitteau (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique)
  • Milan Rezac (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique)
  • Olga Fernández Soriano (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
  • Peter Ackema (University of Edinburgh)
  • Valentina Bianchi (Università degli studi di Siena)

index >>



Registration is free.

Contact for registration:


index >>



  • Arabako Foru Aldundia
  • Arabako Errektoreordetza
  • Letren Fakultatea
  • Nazioarteko Harremanetarako Errektoreordetza
  • Ingeles eta Aleman Filologia Saila
  • Hizkuntzalaritza eta Euskal Ikasketak Saila
  •  Research group "Hizkuntzalaritza Teorikorako Taldea- HITT/CIT- 07/144-IT-210-07" and research project FFI2008-04786/Filo.


index >>


Fecha de la última modificación: 19/05/2008